The Craobh Eo Seminar for 2017 was held on Sat 25th February in the Gateway Hotel, Swinford. Once again, there was a great attendance and we all really enjoyed ourselves.

The seminar was opened by our chairman Sean Foody who welcomed all from near and far to Swinford for the day.

Demonstrators were David O’Neill (Ulster), Ciaran McCarthy (South East Chapter) & Joe O’Neill (Dublin).


David demonstrated a textured box in one demo and a winged bowl for the other. He went through each process in detail and we came away wanting to go home and make the pieces. These are simply lovely items and as David said, you need to be looking for something special to turn heads at the craft fair. He incorporated texturing and ebonising into the demo and finished using a sprayed lacquer.

Ciaran made a three legged stool over 2 sessions. This was a Shaker style stool, a sturdy piece of furniture yet very elegant. As well as the turning, he bored the seat and legs at an angle on the pillar drill with the help of a homemade jig to receive the legs and stretchers. This is also a very makeable piece and is a nice piece of furniture. His other demo was a “Napoleon Cannon Ball” artistic piece.

Joe’s demos are well known for a mixing a fair sprinkling of wit as well as the turning. This proved to be the case on this occasion as well. He turned an egg shaped box which Joe reckoned was more akin to a swan’s egg. The other demo was a picture frame and this demo will live long in the memory of all who saw it. See video below. Again these items are attractive and can be turned by anyone.

See photos below that tell more of the story of the day. Thanks to Michael Maye for all the photos and video.


A big thank you to both David, Ciaran and Joe for wonderful demos. Also to the Gateway Hotel for all the good food and hospitality.



As usual there was a good display of pieces and judges were impressed by quality on display. Congratulations to the winners and special thanks to all who brought items along.

Winner    Pat Walsh         Dublin        (Platter)

Second   Colm Brennan   Sligo          (Vase)

Third       Ian McDougall   Craobh Eo (Cheese Board)