October 2022 Meeting

The October meeting of the 2022/23 CraobhEo woodturning year was held on Thurs October 13th, 2022 in the CraobhEo Centre in Aghamore.

This was our A.G.M. 

​Chairman Tom Jordan chaired the meeting and proposed a minute’s silence for John Mullen who recently passed away.  He thanked all members who served the chapter in any capacity in the past year.

Secretary Pat O’Malley reported a successful 2022 CraobhEo Seminar, held in the Gateway Hotel, Swinford in Feb 2022 where we welcomed Joe Lairde, Craobh Cúig Deag and John Flynn, South East Chapter as our demonstrators. Graham Griffiths, Shannonside took the overall and people’s prizes with Pat Walsh, Dublin, Martin Wilson, CraobhEo and Colm Brennan, Sligo taking prizes as well.

Overall monthly competitions 2022 winner was Tom Jordan with Willie Creighton second and Liam Horan third.

The outside demonstrators over the year were Kevin Geaney, Cork (Dec), Graham Griffiths Shannonside (Feb), Joe O’Neill Dublin (Mar), Danny McGeever, Sligo (Apr), Pat Horgan Limerick (May) and Colm Brennan Sligo (Jun).

The membership as at Jan 2022 stood at 47 and this is one of the highest in the country. We had regular attendance well into the twenties for our monthly meetings.

Treasurer Martin Wilson presented his report and went into the chapter’s finances in detail. Pro Willie Creighton outlined plans for the 2023 CraobhEo seminar to be held the Gateway Hotel, Swinford on the 25th Feb 2023. Demonstrators, Kevin Geaney, Cork and Tony Farrell, Cork.

Discussions took place on competition rules, website and its usage, chapter get together and the journal.

Chapter Competition

The October competition was a goblet with captive rings.

This was our best display of entries for the competition for a long time. Well done to all for participating.

Willie Creighton did a critique and evaluated each entry in turn with feedback to each member. Thank you, Willie.

Competition piece for November is a platter, (230mm to 350mm).





 Monthly Chapter Competition Winners

Winner –    Patrick Munnelly

Second –   Willie Creighton

Third –       Ian McDougall