September 2022 Meeting


The September meeting of the CraobhEo 2022/23 year took place on the 8th September in the CraobhEo Centre in Aghamore.

Our demonstrator for the evening was Willie Creighton.

​Willie chose to turn a pen to start with. Choose two wooden blanks for your pen.

Mount first pen blank in the chuck and drill a 7mm hole through the blank. Next insert a barrel trimmer in the Jacob’s chuck and trim the blank. Repeat for the second blank. Then glue brass tubes into the blanks and leave to set. Mount the pen mandrel on the lathe and insert the pen blanks on the mandrel.

Turn the pen blanks down to your preferred shape. Sand the pen blanks. Coat with EEE and buff. Apply coat of Shellawax and buff at top speed. Final step is to assemble the pen. This can be done on the lathe using a pen press fitted in the headstock or with a pen assembly unit.


The second demo was a vase with a glass tube insert.

Mount a rectangular vase blank (100 mm square by 225 mm long) using a spigot or directly in the chuck ensuring it is setup aligned along its length with the toolrest. This ensures it will be bored straight. Drill a 25 mm hole, approx 175 mm deep for the glass tube insert.

Turn blank to a cylinder and then proceed to shape the vase to your preferred design.

Willie went through all the spindle cuts and explained how to turn them as he went along. Beads, coves, ogees and fillets were all covered. He used roughing gouge, parting tool, spindle gouge as he went along.

Sand, apply preferred finish and part off.

Thanks Willie and well done for presenting two lovely projects that we can all go home and make. These items will be very popular coming up to Christmas.

Chapter Competition

Competition for September was a piece of your choice.

There was a great display of turned items. Willie Creighton did a critique on each item and gave valuable feedback on each entry.

Thanks to all who took in the competition.

Competition for October is captive ring goblet.




 Monthly Chapter Competition Winners

Winner  –  Patrick Munnelly

Second –  Willie Creighton, Ian McDougall

Third     –  Tom Jordan, Tom Burke, Liam Horan, Padraig Grealis, Pat O’Malley